His Beatitude Patriarch Fouad Twal

Posted by marc | Uncategorized | Friday 12 September 2014 7:16 am



Patriarch of Jerusalem

Born in Madaba (Jordan) October 23, 1940; ordained Priest June 29, 1966; consecrated Bishop of Tunis July 22, 1992; appointed Archbishop Coadjutor of Jerusalem September 8, 2005; took possession of his see June 22, 2008. He is Grand Prior of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulcher, president ex-officio of the Assembly of Catholic Ordinaries of the Holy Land (A.O.C.T.S.) and of the Conference of Latin Bishops of the Arab Regions (C.E.L.R.A.), member of the Council of Catholic Patriarchs of the East, member of the Congregation for the Oriental Churches, and the Pontifical Council for Family.


Patriarch H.B. Fuad Twal
Patriarch of Jerusalem for Latins
 Address: P.O.B. 14152
     c/o Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem
9114101 Jerusalem, Israel
Tel: (02) 628 23 23
Tel: (02) 627 22 80
Fax: (02) 627 44 13
website: www.lpj.org


Rt Rev. David Neuhaus, S.J.

Posted by marc | Uncategorized | Friday 12 September 2014 6:53 am


Rt Rev. David Neuhaus, S.J.

Patriarchal Vicar for Saint James Vicariate for Hebrew-Speaking Catholics in Israel;

 Coordinator of the Coordination of the Pastoral among Migrants in Israel

Born April 25 1962, member of the Society of Jesus, ordained Priest September 8, 2000; appointed Patriarchal Vicar on 2009.

Address: Saint Simeon and Anne House
10 Harav Kook Street
P.O.B. 581
9100402 Jerusalem
Tel: (02) 624 82 55
Fax (02) 624 85 56
Mobile: 054 782 28 43
E-mail: neuhaussj@gmail.com
Website: www.catholic.co.il 


Territorial Parishes

Posted by jean-paul | Uncategorized | Thursday 11 September 2014 10:44 am






Diocesan Commissions

Posted by jean-paul | A. Latin Church | Wednesday 10 September 2014 7:25 pm

Doctrinal Commission

Catechetical Commission

Commission on Liturgy and Sacred Music

Episcopal Commission for Pilgrimages

Posted by jean-paul | Assembly of the Catholic Ordinaries of the H.L | Wednesday 10 September 2014 10:15 am

Commissions, Services, Committees



President:  Most Rev. William Shomali
Mobile 054-970 64 08
E-mail: ws@lpj.org
Secretary:  Rev. Pietro Felet, S.C.J.
Members: Rev. Athanasius Macora, O.F.M.
Mobile: 052-381 69 61
E-mail: athomac@yahoo.com
  Rev. Bernt Besch
Tel: (02) 628 23 23
E-mail : eljakim@lpj.org
  Deac. Sobhi Makhoul
Mobile 052- 635 17 10
E-mail: sobhi@maronitejerusalem.org
  Rev. Eamon Kelly, L.C.
Tel: (02)627 91 11
E-mail:  ekelly@legionaries.org
  Rev.  Christian Eeckhout, O.P.
Tel: (02) 626 44 68
E-mail: christianop7@hotmail.com
Person in charge: Mr. Johny Yousef  Handal
Tel: (02) 626 46 48
Fax: (02) 628 85 55
Website: www.catholicchurch-holyland.com

H.B. Michel Sabbah

Posted by marc | Uncategorized | Wednesday 10 September 2014 6:59 am


H.B.  Michel Sabbah

 Emeritus Patriarch of Jerusalem for Latins


Address: Mount of Olives
P.O.B. 95
9100002 Jerusalem
Tel: (02) 627 83 20
Fax: (02) 628 83 63
E-mail: ms@lpj.org

Committee on Liturgy and Sacred Music

Posted by marc | A. Latin Church | Wednesday 10 September 2014 6:53 am

Commission on Liturgy and Sacred Music

President:           Most Rev. William Shomali

                          Rev. Aziz Halaweh

                          Rev. Feras Hejazin, O.F.M.

                          Rev. Bassam Al Deir

                          Deac. Samir Hodali

                          Sr. Lucy Ghighi

                          Sr. Victoire Marjieh

                          Mrs. Hania Sodah

                          Mr. Joseph Hazboun

Catechetical Commission

Posted by marc | A. Latin Church | Wednesday 10 September 2014 6:51 am

 Catechetical Commission

Director: Sr. Virginie Habib
Members:      Sr. Léonie Salem, C.R.J.
Sr. Mira Kasabry, C.R.J.
Ms. Alice Antoni
Ms. Maysoun Kassis
Ms. Nabila Shamesian
Ms. Sireen Ghanem
Ms. Suad Kattan
Mr. Youssef  Shahine
Office address:     Latin Patriarchate
Tel: (02) 628 23 23
Mobile: 054 970 64 91
E-mail: cate.center@lpj.org


Doctrinal Commission

Posted by marc | A. Latin Church,Catholic Dioceses in the Holy Land | Wednesday 10 September 2014 6:49 am

Doctrinal Commission


President:   H.B. Fouad Twal       
Secretary: Rev. Frans Bouwen, M.Afr.
Members: Most Rev. G. Boulos Marcuzzo
  Rev. Frederic Manns, O.F.M.
  Rev. David Neuhaus, S.J.
  Rev. Peter Du Brul, S.J.
  Rev. Jamal Khader
  Rev. Gianni Caputa, S.D.B.
  Rev. Thomas Greis, O.S.B.

Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem

Posted by admin | A. Latin Church,Catholic Dioceses in the Holy Land | Wednesday 10 September 2014 12:00 am

Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem

(Latin Patriarchal Diocese of Jerusalem) 

The Church of Jerusalem was born on the day of Pentecost.  It was governed at first by the College of Apostles under the leadership of St. Peter. St. James was the first bishop of Jerusalem.  A long line of bishops has followed until this day.  The Church of Jerusalem was recognized as a patriarchate by the Council of Chalcedon in 451. 

     Over the centuries, the various Christian communities in Jerusalem shared a common history and, by and large, lived in harmony among themselves until 451 when, following the Council of Chalcedon, the Orthodox (Greek) separated themselves from the Orthodox Oriental Churches (Coptic, Armenian and Syrian).  A second major division came in 1054 when the Churches of the East and those of the West separated from each other. Today, Jerusalem has thirteen Churches with constituted dioceses, six Catholic (Latins, Greek Catholics, Maronites, Syrians, Armenians, and Chaldeans), five Orthodox (Greeks, Armenians, Copts, Syrians, and Ethiopians), and two Protestant (Anglicans and Lutherans).

     When the Crusaders arrived in 1099, the Greek Patriarch Simon fled to Cyprus, leaving the See of Jerusalem vacant. Consequently, the Crusaders installed one of their own, Arnulf, as the first Latin Patriarch.  The Latin Patriarchs succeeded themselves in Jerusalem from 1099 to 1187, at which time the city fell to Saladin, the Latin Patriarch moved to Acre, and the Greek Orthodox Patriarch returned to Jerusalem. 

In 1218, the Order of Friars Minor (Franciscans) opened its first monastery in St. John of Acre, thus becoming the oldest Roman Catholic institution in the Holy Land.  When Acre fell in 1291, the Latin Patriarchs moved to Cyprus, then, in 1374, to Rome where they succeeded themselves as Titular Patriarchs until 1847.  During their absence, the constant presence of the Franciscans in the Holy Land was a determining factor in the preservation, formation and growth of the local Catholic Church.

 On July 23, 1847, the Patriarchal See of Jerusalem was restored as a residential see by the Apostolic Letter of Pius IX, Nulla Celebrior.  The first to occupy the post, Patriarch Giuseppe Valerga, arrived in Jerusalem on January 17, 1848 and took possession of his see by solemnly entering the Holy Sepulcher, the cathedral of the Patriarchs of Jerusalem.  

Latin Patriarchs since the restoration in 1847:
H.B. Patriarch Giuseppe Valerga 1847-1872
H.B. Patriarch Vincenzo Bracco 1873-1889
H.B. Patriarch Luigi Piavi, O.F.M. 1889-1905
H.B. Patriarch Filippo Camassei 1907-1919
H.B. Patriarch Luigi Barlassina 1920-1947
H.B. Patriarch Alberto Gori, O.F.M. 1949-1970
H.B. Patriarch Giacomo Beltritti 1970-1987
H.B. Patriarch Michel Sabbah 1987-2008
H.B. Patriarch Fouad Twal 2008 to present


 Address:  Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem
P.O.B. 14152
9114101 Jerusalem
Tel:  (02) 628 23 23
Tel: (02)  627 22 80
Fax: (02) 627  16  52
E-mail: chancellery@lpj.org
Website: www.lpj.org




Diocesan Commissions    

Territorial Parishes

The Saint James Vicariate for Hebrew Speaking Catholics in Israel 

Coordination for the Pastoral among Migrants in Israel

Personal Parishes or Chaplaincies (for Foreigners)

Diocesan Priests

Permanent Deacons

Diocesan Hermit

Latin Patriarchate Printing Press




« Previous PageNext Page »