Greek Melkite Catholic Archeparchy of Petra and Philadelphia

Posted by jean-paul | Catholic Dioceses Holy Land,Melkite Church Jordan | Thursday 23 February 2017 8:01 am


Greek Melkite Catholic Archeparchy

of Petra and Philadelphia


The Archeparchy was founded in 1932 by the Holy Synod of the Greek Melkite Catholic Church with the approval of the Holy See.  Until this date, the northern section of Transjordan came under the jurisdiction of the Archeparchy of Acre, while the southern section came under that of the Vicariate of Jerusalem.  The new see of Petra-Philadelphia became a Greek Melkite Catholic archeparchy with jurisdiction over Jordan and residence in Amman. 


Titulars since the foundation:

Most Rev. Boulos Salman 1932 – 1948
Most Rev. Michel Assaf 1948 – 1970
Most Rev. Saba Youakim 1970 – 1992
Most Rev. Georges El Murr 1992 – 2007
Most Rev. Yaser Al-Ayyash 2007 – 2015
Most Rev. Elie B. Haddad (Eparchial Administrator) 2015 at present
Mansour Street / Um Alsummaq
Tel. & Fax: (06) 586 66 73
Tel. & Fax: (06) 581 57 39
Mailing Address:
Jebel Amman
11181 Amman, Jordan



Most Rev. Elie Bechara Haddad 

Mobile and Viber: 0096132988884


Archbishop EmeritusMost Rev. Yaser Al-Ayyash



Territorial Parishes

Retired priests

Priests serving abroad

Religious Institutes represented in the Archeparchy